Hi Hashnote πŸ˜€ - ABOUT ME

Β·

2 min read

Hi Hashnote πŸ˜€

My name is Jasmin aka Jas . I am Technical Marketing Engineer but by night I am learning about cybersecurity. I joined Hashnote to document my cybersecurity learning πŸ₯³ . Also, I am Latina and might post in Spanish later down the line as well πŸ˜€

A Bit About My Tech Journey :

I have a BS in Exercise Science {Clinical Concentration} with a minor in Information Technology Systems. I have worked in the past in the e-commerce, nonprofit, health, and business sector.

I was accepted to chiropractic school but decided not to go due to financial constraints in 2019. I wanted to be a chiropractor so that I could study the fundamentals and design a chiropractor application. Later, I applied for and was approved for a master's degree in information technology, but I rejected it even with a scholarship due to the pandemic in 2020.

Due to someone's recommendation at Techqueira, a charity for Latinx in tech in 2020, I self-taught myself to code first by starting on freeCodeCamp. A problem I witnessed in the community prompted me to begin learning to code. I intended to make an asset map that listed all nonprofits that did not have an existing online presence.

Later in 2020, I discovered Leon Noel's free online Bootcamp, 100 Devs, and began coding after work. Later on, I got the opportunity to participate in Resilient Coders, a free Bootcamp for minorities in the Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, and Boston area in 2021, which is also led by Leon Noel. Leon Noel deserves a shout-out for believing in me.

I experienced covid-19 during my coding Bootcamp experience, but I am grateful to have survived it. I worked part-time while attending Bootcamp and remained resilient.

Two months later, I received job offers the week before my birthday and accepted the position of technical marketing engineer.

Please if you are a beginner in any part of the tech industry don't doubt yourself or think you don't belong in tech because you do! Don't forget rejection is redirection πŸ˜€ πŸ’•

Β